WILLIAMS family, Lunenburg Co., VA

In 1757, Daniel Williams, planter, of Granville Co., NC deeded a tract of land consisting of 420 acres in Lunenburg Co., VA to his son, Henry Williams “for love and affection.” Henry and his wife Elizabeth lived in Lunenburg Co., VA through 1762. In 1764 Lunenburg Co was divided to form Mecklenburg Co., VA in the south. Henry and Elizabeth Williams were then listed as living in Mecklenburg Co., VA between 1765-1770; therefore this land must have laid in the area that was originally Lunenburg that became Mecklenburg Co., VA in 1764. The Willliams family removed to Orange Co., NC, then Caswell Co., NC about 1770.

Today I searched for Henry Williams in the USGenWeb Lunenburg Co., VA archive files for deeds and court records. Although I did not find any references to Henry Williams, my ancestor, I did find a family record file of Reverend John Williams, that was submitted by JoLee Gregory Spears. Reverend John Williams of Lunenburg Co., VA was a 1st cousin of my ancestor, Henry Williams.

JoLee’s family record contained a link to Reverend John Williams and Henry Williams’ grandfather, John Williams, the Wealthy Welshman published by Scott K. Williams.

This website was a wealth of information regarding the history of the Williams Family in America. Scott K. Williams’ two significant references were the following:

1) “Williams 300 Years of Leadership in America: A History of the Descendants of John Williams of Llangollen, Wales” by Lewis James Williams, 1997. This book can be found at the State Library of North Carolina.

2) The transcript of the Williams Family Bible written by John Drayton Williams, son of Washington Williams, grandson of Gen. James Williams; In 1910 Barbara A. McClung copied John D. Williams’ family bible that he wrote in 1845 which she borrowed from William D. Williams, Jr (Greenville, TN). If I’m not mistaking, this transcription by Barbara A. McClung is housed in the Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection at the Knox Co., TN Library and is copied in several rootsweb files online.

I am very excited about all the great publications references I have come across this week on my Williams family. Now I just have to find enough records to prove that Henry Williams is really my ancestor!!! I’m not sure of what the genealogy netiquette of saying this is, but proving that Henry Williams’ daughter, Susannah Williams Brooks Rice was married to Christopher Brooks, and that they were the parents of my ancestor, Christopher Williams Brooks, would disprove existing publications listing George Brooks as C W’s father.

With a little help from my new-found friend in TN, I hope to solve this mystery soon.

James WILLIAMS, 96th District, SC (con't)

Another To Do:

1. Read Williams Graves’ “James Williams, An American Patriot in the Carolina Backcountry”; 2002.

2. Copy the following article which can be found at the NC Genealogy Library (or the Olivia Raney History Library – closed stacks): Madge C. Frink. “Colonel James Williams: A Sketch of a Patriot and the Events Leading to the Battle of King’s Mountain.” Daughter’s of the American Revolution Magazine 118 (1984): 644-6.

Update: I could not find this article by Madge C. Frink in volume 118. This source has been cited for other family pages, so this is kind of strange. I did find another volume with an article about James Williams, but MY LIBRARY IS MISSING THAT VOLUME.

Too bad I can’t remember where I saw this source cited. I guess I need to keep better blogs :)

James WILLIAMS, 96th District, SC

In my previous post, I mentioned that my ancestor, Henry Williams of Caswell Co., NC had a brother, Colonel James Williams of the 96th District, SC who died in the Revolutionary War. I received the book I ordered “James Williams: An American Patriot in the Carolina Backcountry” by William Graves in the mail this week to confirm this relationship. Graves’ book gives an excellent account of the life of Colonel James Williams and includes familial activities and history based on primary sources of letters, wills, estate, and court records.

The author of this book confirms that my ancestor, Henry Williams, was in deed the brother of Colonel James Williams and says that Colonel James Williams transferred much of his assets, including his slaves, to his brother’s house for safe keeping from the Tories shortly before he died (p. 25-27).

Details of his whole estate were recorded in both Caswell Co., NC and in the 96th District, SC. This was a great find. As a side, my ancestor, Henry Williams, was also a Colonel in the Revolutionary War; Henry Williams’ great-grandson, Iverson Lea Brooks later became a General in the War between the States.

To Do:

  1. Copy the Will of James Williams from the Caswell Co., NC Will folders at the State Archives [If not located, look for will recorded in Caswell Co Will Book A, p. 113, December Court 1780]
  2. Copy the estate files of James Williams from the loose papers in the estate of James in Caswell Co., NC at the State Archives
  3. Go through and index the Land Grants issued the Williams family in Granville Co., NC before 1800. - Updated: A summary of Land Grants was posted here.

James Williams of the 96th District, South Carolina, con’t

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.